In Search of the Original High

The evolution of Adam Lambert from theater kid to singer-songwriter-superstar

By Juneau

Rankin4I have been a most ardent Adam Lambert fan these past five years, but as you faithful readers of my scribblings well know, my passion for him has never blinded me to his human failings and limitations. I was smitten by his godlike talents as a vocalist, by his stage personas and his charisma, but I think that what really fuels my obsession is my conviction that he could be so, so much more.

If only. If only he hadn’t lost American Idol. If only America wasn’t so antigay. If only he hadn’t kissed a guy on the AMA. If only 19E/RCA/Sony had marketed him properly. If only radio would play his music. Perhaps. But in my honest opinion, these are distractions from the real issue. To put it bluntly, Adam’s rise to fame was propelled by his voice and command…

View original post 2,266 more words

Leave a Reply

